Monday, 26 May 2014

Hey!

Sorry for not posting in a bit, if you are curious as to what my class is doing in humanities, follow this Link to our new project. In groups we have created political party's and we are creating our platform right now.

Friday, 7 March 2014

GINS Word Art



In class, we were asked to find a quote from our Global Issues Novel Study book and put it into a form of word art. The quote I chose from my book, Little Princes, was: "The children remember, but with those memories came the realization that their mothers and fathers might as well have been on the other side of the moon. They were still alone. Nothing had changed." I felt this was one of the most powerful quotes I found in this book, as it brings in the reality of the situation. An estimation by the International Labour Organization says that 1.2 million children are trafficked each year. These children are being taken away from their family's and loved ones. Without help, how are these kids supposed to find their family's again?

The image I mounted the text on is the lunar cycle and a mountain range. I chose this, because I feel that the moon and mountains act as symbols. The moon is a symbol of mystery and emotion. I felt this was appropriate for the quote and the book, because there is probably lots of emotion for the children at Little Princes. Why wouldn't their be? Their parents were tricked into paying a child trafficker lots of money to keep their children safe during the war in Nepal. The moon also symbolizes mystery and progression, these kids don't know what happened to their parents. Most believe that their parents are dead, but have had to progress with their lives. You can't just pause your life when something happens, you have to work through it. That's where the mountains come in. Mountains symbolize hard work, and set backs. It was hard for Connor to locate the parents of all the children. With persistently working hard at the issue of child trafficking, Connor could overcome this mountain.

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

GINS Post 7

Today in class, we were exploring empathy and how it differs from sympathy. These are two ideas that often get confused, so we were practising using them in our writing. We had a free-write to explore this idea using the characters and setting of our Global Issues Novel Study.


One fine day, I was looking for an opportunity to volunteer outside of the United States when I came across an ad for a volunteer needed. This opportunity was located in Nepal at an orphanage called: Little Princes. I liked the thought of leaving the country, as I wanted to travel the world; but kids? I could do without them. I kept reading and found out that Nepal was a war zone, and the children needed help. How often would this chance come up? I took the position and flew down to Nepal a few months later. There were police everywhere, certainly not a very warm greeting. I was put in a house that would teach me to learn what I needed to know, their youngest daughter taught me lots. I showed off in front of the family and they looked at me very questioningly. I kept trying and they asked me who I was taught by; I pointed at their daughter. They started laughing at me, I felt embarrassed, though I still didn’t know what I’d done. I learned that she was deaf. I immediately felt very bad for her, how would I feel if I couldn’t hear the world? No more birds singing, or music playing. Having a communication barrier between me and the rest of the world. I’d feel like I do now, not knowing their language, it would be awful.

Thursday, 23 January 2014

GINS 6


As a group; Sam, Amanda, Ali, Isaac and I didn't run into any road blocks or difficulties, I think this is because we came up with some very valid rights and freedoms outlined in our made-up Charter. We were able to get a few ideas from my book, Little Princes, by including Children's rights as well as human trafficking laws. Something that could've benefited our group would be taking a quick review of each book that was read. This would have helped us, because we had 5 different people and 4 different book total. The rights outlined in the charter we created were similar to the format of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, however we did add a few sections that we thought would help benefit the world (we were making this as if it were for global usage). Another reason we probably resorted back to the format and ideas of the Canadian Charter is because we live in Canada, and haven't studied or experienced a different charter. In order to really step out of the box on this assignment would require us to expand our worldview, this way we can learn to accept and understand the way other parts of the world and how their charter(s) help or detriment their lives. 

To view our charter, click here.

Wednesday, 8 January 2014

GINS Post #5: What if?


In class, we were asked to write a new post for our Global Issues Novel Study. What would happen if the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms was introduced in Nepal?

There are a number of documents in Nepal that are listed to protect its indigenous people from discrimination, rights and freedoms of Nepali people. Some of the rights and freedoms in the country’s charter and treaty-based  bodies are similar to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Some of the Treaty Bodies include: Rights of the Child, Elimination of Discrimination against Women, Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, Committee against Torture, Elimination of Racial Discrimination. These rights and eliminations are to benefit its people, as are the charter-based bodies. The charter bodies include: Rights and Fundamental Freedoms of Indigenous people. Most of these documents were created in the time of the book, however there were some rights (Elimination of Discrimination against Women and Rights of the Child) that have different concluding observations made in 2011 and 2012. In 2005 the King had lots of restrictions on the peoples’ freedom of speech, peaceful assemblies, as well as press. There are many unlawful arrests made in Nepal, and even though these people have rights and freedoms, many are violated. Even though the document still stands, judging on the violations it is not a guarantee that you will have these rights and freedoms.
Over the past few years, Nepal has become a more peaceful place. An annual report of Nepal, from Amnesty International, claims that there are some Human Rights violations to senior public positions. There is also political violence as a result of debates on federalism. Though the country has become more peaceful, there are still random scenes of detention, torture and executions that are not judged appropriate in court. Human rights may still be being violated, in Nepal more severely than Canada, for instance, but where aren’t they being violated. There is always going to be a violation if someone asks for an opinion - we don’t all have the same opinions - and some can’t control saying: “You’re wrong.” That is a violation of the freedom of opinion in Canada. If Nepal was following  the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, I feel as though there would be a slight behavioural change, especially if they followed a democratic government as opposed to a monarchy. Though the outline of the rights and freedoms would be changed, I still have to believe that the rights and freedoms would be violated. If it was happening before and no one was reaching out to stop it, the issue would remain unresolved. As for Child Trafficking, the issue in the novel, I feel the child traffickers would still be able to get away with the crime. I feel, the most effective way to eliminate the issue in the novel would be to increase the security and laws of the country, and be sure to have police become more strict towards rule - or law - breaking. Specifically speaking, I really feel that in order to have Nepal develop further, they should consider focussing more on their legal rights. Those being arrested should have the right to know why, backed up by evidence. If those making the arrest can't provide an explanation, it is unlawful and a violation of that human-being's rights. If those in the authoritative position, making the arrest, should really think about the scenario if it were the other way around. Before making rash decisions, they should really consider if the shoe was on the other foot.

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Global Issues Novel Study - Round-table

Listen to a Round-table for my Global Issues Novel Study! In this round-table, you will hear the voices of myself (Jenn), Brianna, Haniya and Will.

Friday, 25 October 2013

Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal


In class, we have been introduced to a new assignment. We were given a list of books to choose from based on real-world issues and got to read them. The novel I am reading for this assignment is Little Princes, by Conor Grennan. This book is based on the issue of child trafficking in developing countries, in this case Nepal. I decided to read this book, because it seemed to be an inspiring story about a man traveling to help the orphans in Nepal during a civil war. Another reason I picked this book was because on the back it says, "A portion of the proceeds from this book will go to Next Generation Nepal." This was what gave me the final push to buying Little Princes. Next Generation Nepal is a nonprofit organization the author of this book, and the one who traveled to volunteer in Nepal, created. The organization reconnects trafficked children to their family. Before I began reading this book, I had no idea what child trafficking was, as it isn't something you often hear about where I am from.
So far in this novel, I haven't had any questions about what is happening. I am just in shock about the first part of the book. When Conor started volunteering he accidentally gave a child a bit too much shampoo, which was a normal amount for himself - about the size of a quarter. "His eyes grew wide at the apparently enormous pool of shampoo in his hand." (P. 24 Little Prices C.G.) This was an eye opener for me, because you don't realize how much we use compared to these children.
The characters that have been introduced so far were Connor, the twenty-nine year old volunteer at an orphanage in Nepal. Deepak, a man responsible for the orientation of volunteers in Nepal. Hari and Jen, two volunteers in the orientation that were mentioned, but without great detail. Susmita, a young deaf girl that was part of Conor's 'host family'. Raju, Hriteek, Anish, Nuraj, Nishal, Santosh, Bikash, Dawa were the boys of the orphanage that have been introduced so far. Yangani and Priya are the only girls, Priya is Raju's sister. Sandra, founder and operator of Little Prices Children's Home originally from France.  Jenny, Chris, Farid are other volunteers at the orphanage from around the world.